Weather Forecast


St. Paul Park City Council swears in final new member

1 / 4
Council member Jeff Swenson once again was sworn in to his council seat. Swenson has held the seat for 12 years. Katie Nelson / RiverTown Multimedia 2 / 4
Mayor Sandi Dingle (right) swore in new council member Bruce Zenner Jan. 2, 2018. Zenner beat other hopefuls in the Nov. 7 election to secure his seat. Katie Nelson / RiverTown Multimedia 3 / 4
Bruce Zenner and Tanya Foote replaced outgoing members in December and January, once again filling the St. Paul Park City Council. Katie Nelson / RiverTown Multimedia 4 / 4

After filling in gaps with appointments and elections, the St. Paul Park City Council has taken a new shape in the new year.

Newly-elected member Bruce Zenner, the last addition made to the council, was sworn in at the Jan. 2 meeting. Zenner is filling the seat of Gregory Jahner III, who did not run for re-election.

Mayor Sandi Dingle was sworn in at the Dec. 18 meeting, due to the special election. New council member Tanya Foote was also sworn in at that meeting, after the council chose to appoint her to the seat vacated by Jennifer Cheesman.

Jeff Swenson, 12-year council veteran, was sworn in to his seat once again at the Jan. 2 meeting. Swenson was named the acting mayor in case of Dingle's absence.

"Great council," Rep Keith Franke, former mayor, said at the council meeting. "We always have a great council. This city is solid, and I'm proud to be a part of it."

Council members were also appointed to the commissions they will serve as liaison to Jan. 2.

Dingle will continue to serve on the administration and planning commissions, council member Tim Jones will remain on the public safety commission and Swenson on the public works commission. Zenner will join the Heritage Days Committee and Foote will join the parks and recreation commission.